• Top Kmusic #8: May 2021

    ~ MAY 2021 ~

    Hello everyone and welcome to the top Kmusic of May 2021! This month was filled with emotions to say the least: Taemin released his last solo comeback before his enlistment, NCT Dream finally came back as 7 with their Hot Sauce album, and TXT put out an incredible album. If you want to know my opinion about their "Chaos chapter: Freeze" album, click here.

    The usual disclaimer before we start: All the pictures included in this article are screenshots taken by me from official music videos if there is copyright infringement, I apologize in advance and will remove any problematic picture upon the owner's request. 

    You'll be able to find the link to the YouTube playlist at the end of the article. If you're asking yourself why I don't make a Spotify playlist instead, it's because I don't use Spotify. I'm an Apple Music user, and since not everyone uses the same music platform, I find it easier to create a YouTube playlist so you can listen to all the songs at once.

    So, without any further due, let's start!

    #19 Highlight - Not the end (comeback) - May 3

    Highlight Not the end comeback MV screenshotI really felt that "I'm still here it's not the end". I'm so glad to hear them making music again. Highlight (formerly known as "Beast") didn't have an easy career. They come from really far and now that all the members completed their military services I believe it will be a new beginning for the group. Watch the official MV for "Not The End" here.

     

     

     

    #18 Aespa - Next Level (comeback) - May 17

    Aespa Next level comeback MV screenshotI understand why people are mad at SM for not giving aespa an original song for them, because this song was revealed to be a remix of a soundtrack from "Fast & Furious". However, this song grew on me and I find myself humming "I'm on the next, level" from time to time, so this means that the song got into my head. I still am mad at SM for putting so much autotune over their real vocals, knowing that they have beautiful singing voices. But no, everything has to be polished. Screw you SM. Watch the official MV for "Next Level" here.

    #17 Oh My Girl - Dun Dun Dance (comeback) - May 10

    Oh my girl dun dun dance comeback MV screenshotI honestly didn't know much about Oh My Girl before watching Queendom back in 2019, and I never thought I'd stan a girl group with such a girly/cute concept because I usually don't like things that are too cute borderline cringy, but Oh My Girl is different. I cannot explain it, they're just nice to listen to. Watch the official MV for "Dun Dun Dance" here.

     

     

    #16 ITZY - Mafia in the morning (comeback) - April 30

    ITZY mafia in the morning comeback MV screenshotMafia in the morning… look, I really didn't like that song when it came out, because I didn't like the melody and the sound of it. The concept was ok, and the girls rocked the outfits and the choreography. But I still have a real problem with the song that just isn't my style. I will put it in the ranking only to give credits to the girls who still worked hard at the end of the day and deserve recognition. And the choreography is still amazing, kudos to whom choreographed it. Watch the official MV for "Mafia In The Morning" here.

    #15 Shaun - Closed ending (comeback) - May 9

    Shaun Closed Ending MV screenshotI really wanted to share that song with you because Shaun is not a very well-known artist, and he deserves more than that. This song smells summer, it's soft and relaxing. Shaun has a very soothing and deep voice that brings comfort.  Watch the official MV for "Closed Ending" here.

     

     

     

    #14 TO1 - Son of Beast (comeback) - May 20

    TO1 son of beast comeback mv screenshotTO1 (formerly known as TOO) is a group I kind of have on my radar since Road to Kingdom. They are still rookies, but they are starting to define their identity, and I don't want them to disband that soon. I'm saying this because there has been issues with their management, I hope it won't harm their future, because they sound promising! Watch the official MV for "Son of Beast" here.

     

    #13 Wonwoo X Mingyu (of Seventeen) ft. Lee Hi - Bittersweet (digital release) - May 28

    won woo x Mingyu ft lee hi bittersweet mv screenshotWhat a trio! I need to know who suggested that collab, because he deserves a raise. That song is the definition of COOL. I think this song is closer to the blues genre than the jazz genre, and I absolutely loved it. It's just that to appreciate that song, I have to be in a very specific mood, in which I'm not often in. Watch the official MV for "Bittersweet" here.

     

    #12 Joy (of Red Velvet) - Hello (solo debut) - May 31

    Joy of red velvet hello solo debut mv screenshotI read a lot about the controversy about Joy's solo album being only remake songs, and I can totally understand why people might feel offended especially that Joy is a confirmed artist who had proven herself enough in my humble opinion, and giving her a remake album is perceived by some people as saying "you're not good enough for us to make you original songs". But I still think that she did a good job, and if I wouldn't have read about all this I would have never thought about this album being a remake album. This whole story put aside, Joy's vocals are so melodious and pure, I can definitely see her making a career in a musical or her singing for many OSTs because she has the adequate voice for that. As soon as I heard this song I genuinly felt happy. Watch the official MV for "Hello" here.

    #11 Enhypen - Fever (release) - May 19

    Enhypen fever mv screenshotFever was initially my least favourite song on their second mini album, but watching this MV made me think again. I listened to the song more often after this, and the MV really helped me understanding the vibe of the song. I now really like the chorus, better than the verses. Watch the official MV for "Fever" here.

     

     

     

    #10 WJSN The Black - Easy (unit debut) - May 12

    WJSN the black unit debut easy mv screenshotThat song left me speechless… I really have no words. The only thing I can say is that I was NOT expecting this at all. I'm not a fan of WJSN, but WJSN "The Black" is a whole other mood. First of all, WOMEN IN SUITS ARE EVERYTHING! Second, the ATTITUDE and the choreography made me forget to breathe. I'm going to keep an eye on that unit for sure. Watch the official MV for "Easy" here.

    #9 YUQI (of (G)-IDLE) - Bonnie and Clyde (solo debut) - May 20 [ENGLISH]

    YUQI bonnie and Clyde mv screenshotYuqi got me SHOOK! First, with Giant that holds an exceptional message. Second, with that song and her deep vocal tone! I had no idea she had such a deep and hypnotizing voice. And she really has a good diction and a good intonation in her voice which adds meaning to the lyrics. Watch the official MV for "Bonnie and Clyde" here.

     

     

     

    #8 Ailee - Make up your mind (comeback) - May 7

    Ailee make up your mind comeback mv screenshotI honestly discovered Ailee through this song. I knew her before, but I didn't think this was the type of song she would make. I'm thankful to the Youtube algorithm for recommending me this song multiple times :) Watch the official MV for "Make up your mind" here.

     

     

     

     

    #7 BTS - Butter (digital single) - May 21 [ENGLISH]

    BTS butter mv screenshotI think we all agree by saying that Butter will be THE summer song of 2021. This song spreads such good vibes and good energy, and the dance is so fun to watch (not to do lol, otherwise I'd break my back even though I'm young). I'm getting used to Jungkook starting songs now, and I like it (his blue hair are... wow). Also, kudos to the stylist who gave that glowup to Jhope! And there's the second chorus that was shot in a basketball court that reminded me a bit of their song "DNA", am I the only one? Watch the official MV for "Butter" here.

    #6 Gaho - Rush Hour (comeback) - May 24

    Gaho rush hour comeback mv screenshotIf you guys still don't know Gaho, you're missing out on a LOT! I'm sure you've already heard his voice before, he sang a lot of kdrama OSTs, but this man is pure talent. I could recognize his voice from a thousand miles away, and I fall in love every time he puts out a new song. His voice is truly powerful, and it can go low as much as it can go high. Just go listen to this song and you'll hear for yourselves :) Watch the official MV for "Rush Hour" here.

     

    #5 NCT Dream - Hot Sauce (comeback) - May 10

    NCT dream hot sauce mv screenshotJust like any other NCT songs, I didn't like it at the first listen. But the more you listen to it, the more you like it, and then it gets stuck in your head, and then you start learning the lyrics to sing along with them. And then, if you're crazy enough, you start learning the choreography. On a more serious note, this song was definitely a grower, and now I listen to it at least once a day. Also, I'm so happy Mark is back and that they will still promote as 7 in the future. Watch the official MV for "Hot Sauce" here.

     

    #4 Oneus - Black Mirror (comeback) - May 11

    Oneus black mirror mv screenshotDid you notice that they teased that song at the end of their previous comeback "No Diggity"?  That was really cool. I love when comebacks are connected even though I don't understand the story behind it :) Anyways, Black Mirror has to be my favourite title track from them. It's groovy, it's easy to sing along to, the beat is nice, and the choreography is on point. There's nothing bad about this song, it's just amazing. Side note: The whistling sound reminded me of that old song called "I don't like it, I love it" from Flo Rida. Watch the official MV for "Black Mirror" here.  

    Before we move on to the top three, here are some honourable mentions. These songs are songs I don't listen to that much and that weren't my cup of tea at 100% but that I still think are worth checking out:

    • E'LAST U - The beginning of spring (unit debut) - May 19 - Official MV
    • Rocket Punch - Ring Ring (comeback) - May 17 - Official MV
    • Various Artists - Now n New 2021 - May 17 - Official MV
    • Astro - Our Spring (single) - May 23 - Official MV
    • Tae Ho (of IMFACT) - Ggoma - May 27 - Official MV
    • JayB - Switch it up (special single) - May 14 - Official MV

     

    #3 Everglow - First (comeback) - May 25

    Everglow first comeback mv screenshotI can't believe they are the same girls who debuted with "Bon Bon Chocolat". This song goes really HARD! And there's me who thaught that La Di Da was the hardest they could go for, oh boy they proved me wrong. That song goes hard in every aspect: The vocals, the choreography, the facial expressions, the attitude, even the editing of the Music Video. I'm not a fan of these black and orange outfits, but that's the only thing I didn't like in this comeback to be honest. This time Everglow really impressed me, I'm definitely going to check out the b-sides of this album if there are any. Watch the official MV for "First" here.

    #2 Taemin - Advice (comeback) - May 18

    Taemin advice comeback mv screenshotI still am in denial, I don't want to admit that prince Taemin is gone for two years in the military… Seriously, this man is the incarnation of creativity and artistry. This man dares defying all gender limits with no fear which I absolutely love, and he constantly evolves and keeps trying new things when he has already tried so many different genres and concepts! He always does it the "Taemin way", but in a way to still do something new and surprising at the same time. Is it even possible? That song is spectacular. The piano portion at the start is hypnotizing, and the vocals in the chorus are heavenly. And these rap-singing verses are so new but I love it! Watch the official MV for "Advice" here.

    #1 TXT - 0X1=Lovesong (I known I love you) ft. Seori (comeback) - May 31

    TXT 0x1=lovesong (I know I love you) the chaos chapter freeze comeback mv screenshotI don't think I've ever been that much in love with a song. The lyrics to the song are actually pretty sad when you analyze it, and they definitely went straight for the emo vibe in this comeback. But I don't know I just love that song, and the raspiness in Taehyun's voice during the chorus. Also, Seori's voice fits so well in this, even though she only sings 2 lines in the chorus, but these two lines had a strong impact on me. I recently read about RM of BTS contributing to writing the lyrics of this song and finding the title, and I honestly am not surprised at all. I'm not saying that all credits should be given to him, no, but I definitely see RM's writing style in this song. Watch the official MV for "0X1=Lovesong (I known I love you)" here.

    That's it for the top kmusic of May 2021! If you want to listen to all these tracks at once, click here to access the dedicated YouTube playlist. I'm not making any Spotify or Apple Music playlists simply because not everybody uses the same music service. 

    Take care and I'll see you soon!

    Love, Swan

    « Kingdom Legendary War: Episode 9Kingdom Legendary War: Episode 10 (FINALE) »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: