• Top Kmusic #7: April 2021

    ~ April 2021 ~

    Hello everyone and welcome to my top Korean music releases of April 2021. This month we had really interesting and unexpected comebacks. I was surprised by a lot of groups and artists, but I still think that my top 3 won't surprise anyone. I will never remind you enough that this ranking is 100% subjective, 100% based on my own tastes.

    Before we start, a little disclaimer: All the pictures included in this article are screenshots taken by me from official music videos if there is copyright infringement, I apologize in advance and will remove any problematic picture upon the owner's request. 

    You'll find the link to the YouTube playlist with all the songs in it by order at the end of the article. Now, we can start.

    #16 StayC - ASAP (comeback) - April 8

    StayC ASAP MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    That song is really weird! The verses are a bit cringy and the melody too "girly", but I really like the chorus that is relatively simple but catchy. It's that freaking instrument they're using in the chorus that makes it so catchy! Watch the official MV for "ASAP" here.

    #15 OnlyOneOf - LibidO (comeback) - April 8

    OnlyOneOf Libido MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    For those who don't know what "libido" means, it's basically the hormone that's responsible of the sexual drive. I knew this before the song came out this is why I was surprised that the MV wasn't rated 18+ or something, but I'm glad that a group dares doing things like this, because it works. It's sexy without being vulgar, and I personally like it. There's one thing I'm not okay with tho and it's that long haircut. Dude, it's time you cut your hair. Watch the official MV for "Libido" here.

    #14 Kang Daniel - Antidote (comeback) - April 13

    Kang Daniel Antidote MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I don't think I can call myself a fan of Kang Daniel yet but I'm getting really close to it. This song is really good, and the MV is really original & beautiful! The song is catchy too, it really has everything to be a great song. Watch the official MV for "Antidote" here.

    #13 Rosé - Gone (Release) - April 4

    Rosé of Blackpink Gone MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I really like the accoustic guitar riffs in that song, it just adds emotions to a song that's already emotional. I was still hoping for more vocal-wise because we all know that Rosé has a killer voice, but she still does the job. Watch the official MV for "Gone" here.

    #12 Kim Sungkyu - Hush - March 29

    Kim Sungkyu Hush MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

      

    I know this song was released in march but I missed it and I wanted to include it in this month's ranking. This song gives me James Blunt "You're beautiful" vibes, it's calming and soothing, and the instrumental is not overcrowded. Watch the official MV for "Hush" here.

    #11 ONF - Ugly Dance (album repackage release) - April 28

    ONF ugly dance mv screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    This song is really weird, but I really like it because it's weird. We find that "futuristic" vibe they've been going with for a couple of comebacks now, but there's that groove in the chorus that makes this song really interesting and different from their previous releases. Watch the official MV for "Ugly dance" here

    #10 Day6 - You make me (comeback) - April 19

    Day6 you make me MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Everytime day6 comes back I listen to their album non-stop for like one whole week, and this album is no exception. I'm quite sad that this is their last comeback as a full group for a while because of Sungjin's enlistment, but it made me enjoy it more in that sense. You make me is a really good song,  it's easy to listen to and to vibe to. I also really like the drums in this song. Watch the official MV for "you make me" here.

    #9 The8 (of Seventeen) - Side by Side (solo release) - April 13

    The8 of Seventeen Side by Side MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

      

    What an interesting song from the8! I was not expecting this at all, I was maybe expecting something more contemporary and artistic, but this is very fun and light-hearted (which makes it easier to sing along to and I'm here for it). I especially like the counting part. Watch the official MV for "Side by side" here.

    #8 Hoshi (of Seventeen) - Spider (solo debut) - April 2

    Hoshi of seventeen Spider MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

    That MV is breathtaking. Hoshi portrays the most beautiful spider on earth, I'm not against meeting such a beautiful and elegant spider lol. I absolutely love he starts the chorus on a relatively low tone and while whispering, but then he switches his tone and the song becomes even more sexy and sensual. Watch the official MV for "Spider" here.

    #7 Chanyeol (of EXO) - Tomorrow (solo release) - April 6

    Chanyeol of EXO tomorrow MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

    Chanyeol has such a beautiful singing voice. I'm glad he's releasing a solo song even though it's under SM station. The song fits his style so much, I know I will casually listen to this song without any problem. I just wished it was a bit longer. Watch the official MV for "Tomorrow" here.

    #6 Astro - One (comeback) - April 5

    Astro One MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    What a new concept for Astro! I was not expecting such a rap from rocky, but he's not my bias for nothing after all :p I'm also impressed by all the members for nailing this pretty hard choreography! "One" might not be my favorite title track from them, but it's definitely a grower. Watch the official MV for "One" here.

    #5 SuperM - We do (comeback) - April 9

    SuperM we do MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I just love how this song pumps up your mood. I haven't been doing well for the past few days and this song really helped me get out of my bed when I didn't want to. Plus they just look so happy in the MV, and the dance is really energetic. Watch the official MV for "We Do" here.

    #4 IZ - Missing U (digital single) - April 22

    IZ missing you official MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    IZ is a korean band I discovered last year, and every time they come back I am not disappointed. However they do come from a small company and they don't have enough exposure, so I'm taking this opportunity to help them get more fans. So please, go check them out, they really are worth it. The instrumental of "Missing U" reminded me a bit of Muse's "Starlight", and the main vocal has such a unique and distinct voice. Watch the official MV for "Missing U" here.

    Honorable mentions:

    #3 Enhypen - Drunk-Dazed (comeback) - April 26

    Enhypen Drunk Dazed MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I've been a fan since I-Land, and watching them grow up makes me feel like a proud mother. I'm really surprised at how mature they are now, how they gained confidence (especially Jake and Niki), and how they seem to embrace their career with so much energy. And although I'm still not a fan of that creepy vampire concept (it's not against them, I just really hate this concept), this song is really catchy and sticks to my mind. I just wished there was less autotune, because gosh I cannot differentiate the members' voices and that frustrates me so much because we all know they can all sing well! Watch the official MV for "Drunk-Dazed" here.

    #2 BTS - Film out (comeback) - April 1st [JAPANESE]

    BTS film out MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I find myself liking their Japanese stuff more than their Korean stuff I don't know why though… That "lalalalalala" part is so catchy, and the vocals are just heavenly. Do I even need to further explain? Watch the official MV for "Film out" here.

    #1 SHINee - Atlantis (album repackage release) - April 12

    SHINee Atlantis MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

      

    I prefer Atlantis to Don't Call Me. This song screams more Shinee, and the harmonizations are their signature. Plus the MV is really gorgeous, especially the "under water" scenes. It's as beautiful as the mystical city of Atlantis. Watch the official MV for "Atlantis" here.

    If you'd like to listen to all these beautiful songs in a row, you can access the dedicated YouTube playlist here

    That's it for my top Korean music of April 2021! Feel free to leave a comment below with your own favorites, I'm curious to know ^^

    Take care and I'll see you all soon!

    Love, Swan

     

    Sources: Youtube. 

     

    « Kingdom Legendary War: Episode 4Kingdom Legendary War: Episode 5 »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: