• Top Kmusic #4: January 2021

    ~ JANUARY 2021 ~

    DISCLAIMER: All the pictures included in this article are screenshots taken by me from official music videos. If there is copyright infringement, I apologize in advance and will remove any problematic picture upon the owner's request. 

    Hello everyone and welcome to the first top Kmusic of 2021! First of all, I hope you're all safe and in good health, and that you spent great holidays despite the difficult times. 2021, at least musically speaking, started on the right foot to say the least! (G)-IDLE, Oneus, Victon, MCND and many more came back while others debuted. As usual you'll find the link to the YouTube playlist at the end of the article, so if you're too lazy to read what I have to say, you can scroll all the way down (but I'll be forever disappointed in you T-T).

    So, without any further due, let's see who captured my heart this month ;) 

    #16 AleXa - Never let you go (single) - January 14

    ZB labels female Kpop solo artist AleXa comeback Never Let You Go MV screenshot

    I wanted something new from AleXa and I got it, and I'm really happy to hear her beautiful vocals without too much autotune. Watch the official MV for "Never let you go" here.

    #15 Lex - Sip (comeback) - January 11

    Solo Kpop artist Lex comeback Sip MV screenshot

    If you're craving a chill song, this one's for you. I personally wouldn't listen to it under all circumstances, but it's really a great one if you're feeling relaxed or if you're driving in your car. Watch the official MV for "Sip" here.

    #14 Hoppipolla - Your Ocean (comeback) - January 20

    Superband competition winners Korean Band Hoppipolla comeback Your Ocean MV screenshot

    A couple of months ago I stumbled upon a video on YouTube from the competition "Superband", it was a cover of Radiohead's Creep. And then, a couple of days ago, I heard this song and got chills (especially the instrumental part). Instruments are one of the best ways to convey emotions besides lyrics. So I searched them on the internet and found out that they were the winners of Superband. Turns out it was them who sang the cover. They're definitely on my radar now. Watch the official MV for "Your Ocean" here.

    #13 Baekhyun - Get you alone (comeback) - January 3 [JAPANESE]

    SM entertainment EXO Baekhyun solo Japanese comeback Get you alone MV screenshot

    I think that this R&B/Jazzy sound suits Baekhyun really well. When he's wearing glasses with his messy blonde hair in the MV he reminded me of Ji Chang Wook for some reason… And I think we all agree that he's one of the best vocalists out there. I just think the song could've used a little twist. Watch the official MV for "Get you alone" here.

    #12 MCND - Crush (comeback) - January 7

    Top media MCND comeback crush MV screenshot

    They didn't win my rookie of the year award for nothing. This group is surreal, they showed chemistry, talent and originality since day 1 and they have been constantly evolving! Now, this song is a bit too much for me in the sense that there's too much rap/shouting and not enough vocals for my liking, but they still nailed everything in this. Their album is dope tho, you should check out their b-sides, they're amazing. Watch the official MV for "Crush" here.

    #11 Golden Child - Burn It (comeback) - January 25

    Goldenchild comeback Burn It MV screenshot

    The MV shows us a zombie apocalypse with the members fighting against them. Whoever gets bitten is infected, and the members are protecting their loved ones during the battle. The MV doesn't have English subtitles so I read the lyrics and that's when it all made sense. From my perspective, this song is referring to the actual pandemic (I could be wrong tho). However, the music and the vibe doesn't match the story at all. The music is kind of upbeat and the vocals are pretty high and powerful. So the only reason this song doesn't rank higher is because of the inconsistencies with the MV. Watch the official MV for "Burn It" here.

    #10 Dreamcatcher - Odd Eye (comeback) - January 26

    Dreamcatcher comeback Odd Eye MV screenshot

    Dreamcatcher comeback Odd Eye MV screenshot Dami

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    With Handong finally back, the queens have returned! Now, this song wasn't able to dethrone Déjà Vu, but it's still a strong one. The chorus's melody is really catchy, and the vocals in this group never disappoints. I was kind of disappointed visually-wise because their MVs are usually much more astonishing than what they have in this MV. But this song is still a killer one. Watch the official MV for "Odd Eye" here.

    #9 IU - Celebrity (comeback) - January 27

    IU comeback celebrity MV screenshot

    IU comeback celebrity MV screenshot

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I love how IU always does things in her own way. She has her own unique and distinguishable style, her trademark. I love the message in this song being how she perceives the celebrity title. The aesthetics of the MV are making the song even better. Watch the official MV for "Celebrity" here.

    #8 Boyhood - Luxury Big House (comeback) - January 8

    Boyhood comeback luxury big house MV screenshot

    Atypical sound, atypical style, atypical guy and I LOVE IT! This song has been on repeat since I discovered it, and I'm still not getting tired of it. The instrumental is just so calming, to the point that I downloaded both the original version and the instrumental one. Watch the official MV for "Luxury Big House" here.

    #7 (G)I-dle - Hwaa (comeback) - January 11

    (G)I-dle comeback Hwaa MV screenshot Soyeon

    This song is really addictive, especially the chorus. Also, their vocals improved a lot overall, and I don't think I need to comment on Soyeon's rap. Yuqi's there to serve me as always. The only thing wrong with this song is the way it ends. The ending is unforgivable. Watch the official MV for "Hwaa" here.

    #6 Bobby - Devil (b-side) - January 25

    I'm going to be honest, the title track wasn't my style. Although the song's message was really strong and the rap amazing, the song isn't just my vibe. However, I listened to the whole album and god, Devil is so title-track material. The balance between vocals, rap and instruments is much better in this song than in "U mad". And I'm so glad he came back honestly. You can hear the audio of "Devil" here.

    #5 Chungha - X (pre-release) - January 19

    Chungha fourth pre-release X MV screenshot

    The melody sounds so familiar so please, if you have any idea of which song I'm thinking of leave a comment down below! Anyways, she did again. This is her FOURTH pre-release for god's sake, and Chungha still managed to show us another masterpiece. I can't wait for the whole album to come out. Watch the official MV for "X" here. 

    #4 Youha - Abittipsy (comeback) - January 13

    Youha comeback abittipsy MV screenshot

    If I were to redo my top releases of October, I would probably place her song "Island" much higher. But now that I'm familiar with her and her style, I totally got addicted. This song follows the retro trend that picked up towards the second half of 2020 and that seems to be continuing,  and what I find adorable is the little hiccup at the end of the MV. I'm mad at YG for making her train for 10 years and not debuting her, but it seems that she's got past this and is moving forward. Please support her, she totally deserves it! Watch the official MV for "Abittipsy" here.

    Now, before we enter the top 3, here are some honorable mentions:

    • Treasure - My Treasure (comeback) - January 11. Watch the official MV for "My Treasure" here.
    • Jang Han Byul - Used to this - January 14. Watch the official MV for "Used to this" here.
    • T1419 - Asurabalbalta (debut) - January 11. Watch the official MV for "Asurabalbalta" here.
    • Ab6ix - Stay Young (album repackage) - January 18. Watch the official MV for "Stay Young" here.

    #3 Oneus - No diggity (comeback) - January 19

    Oneus comeback no diggity MV screenshot Xion

    Oneus comeback no diggity MV screenshot Seoho

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I'm going to 'steal' someone else's words (coco, a.k.a GZBkarma, please forgive me): "They woke up and chose violence"! This song and this whole album, this is it guys, this is what I knew they were capable of and they finally did it. I knew since Road To Kingdom that they had amazing facial expressions and it totally got translated into that song, but they outdid themselves in terms of performance and vocals. I think that on Road To Kingdom they were unconsciously setting limits when, in fact, there were no limits. And now it's like the barrier's gone and that they finally let their crazy ideas become reality and I'm here for it. What impressed me the most is Hwanwoong's energy, Seoho's and Leedo's vocals, and Xion's mullet. Watch the official MV for "No Diggity" here.

    #2 Victon - What I said (comeback) - January 11

    Victon Comeback What I Said MV screenshot Sejun

    Victon comeback What I said MV screenshot Seungsik

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I'm mad because yes, I slept on them for a while. But I promise I'll be sleeping on my bed from now on. Seriously, the instrumental in that song is FIRE. My favorite part is 100% the pre-chorus because members sing/almost rap at a relatively fast pace while still being able to showcase their vocals if that makes sense. And oh my god Hansae... do I even need to explain that this guy is a genius who raps like no one else does? Watch the official MV for "What I Said" here.

    #1 Victon - Flip A Coin (release) - January 17

    I liked this song more than the title track of the album, but don't think what I felt can be expressed in words. It was like cupid aimed his arrow at the very center of my heart. I noticed them with "Mayday", I fell in love with them with "What I said", and I sold my soul to them when I heard  "Flip a coin". As soon as Seungwoo sang/almost shouted the first two lines in the first verse in his high-pitched voice, I went kaput. My heart is still hesitating between Sejun and Subin, but knowing that I usually fall for maknaes (Taemin in SHINee, Dino in Seventeen, Hueningkai in TXT, Niki in Enhypen) I think Subin's coming for me. Watch the official MV for "Flip A Coin" here.

    That's it for today! You can click here to access the YouTube playlist with all the songs included (the songs are in reverse order meaning the song in the last place is up first). And you? What were your favorite Kmusic releases of the month? Let me know by leaving a comment down below!

    Love, Swan

     

    « Groups & Solo Artists SummarySolo Artist Presentation #2: Kim Chungha »

    Tags Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: