• TOP KMUSIC #2: November 2020

    ~ NOVEMBER 2020 ~

     

    Hello everyone, and welcome to my top Kmusic releases for the month of November 2020! This month was filled with comebacks and debuts. Many popular groups made their return such as BTS with their newest album "BE" and NCT 2020 with the second part of their "Resonance" album. But we also had some pretty impressive debuts with æspa and StayC.

    Before we start, a couple of things you should know concerning the format: For now, I'll put Artist - Song name (the type of release if it's a comeback, a pre-release or a debut) - Release date. If I don't mention anything about the language of the song it means it's Korean by default. I will also put some of my thoughts I had on the song but without getting into the details because otherwise I think it'll be too long.

    You'll find the link to the full playlist at the end of the article. Enjoy! 

    #24 NCT U - Work It (Release from Resonance pt.2) - Nov. 27th

    TOP KMUSIC #2: November 2020

    Probably my least favorite song they promoted for Resonance pt.2. The song is very dance-track heavy (and I usually don't like this kind of vibe where the song is just made of weird electronic sounds). BUT, watch it grow on me. Watch the official MV for "Work it" here

    #23 Keembo - Scene (Comeback) - Nov. 23rd 

    TOP KMUSIC #2: November 2020

    I you guys knew SPICA, this group is made from two of their former members. After this group disbanded I lost track of all the members although I liked their music. And now I see how much I've been missing out! The vocals are really solid and the song is pretty awesome. Watch the official MV for "Scene" here.

    #22 Berry Good - Accio (Comeback) - Nov. 5th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    I was so shocked when I discovered that they debuted in 2014. Why haven't I heard of them before? Berry Good is the perfect example of a "hidden gem". This is why you shouldn't stop at "popular" groups and dig more, to find some of these gems. Watch the official MV for "Accio" here.

    #21 MAMAMOO - Aya (Comeback) - Nov. 3rd

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    After "Dingga" came out last month, I sure wasn't expecting something like this although they left a teaser at the end of the MV. Honestly? I was a bit disappointed with the song. The girls are gorgeous and so is the MV but at this point I'm expecting more song-wise from Mamamoo especially that they proved they are capable of a lot more. Watch the official MV for "Aya" here. 

    #20 CNBlue - Then, now and forever (comeback) - Nov. 17th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    To all the people who didn't know CNBlue, they are one of the first Kpop bands that appeared in the industry. The group actually consists of 3 members and this is their first comeback after more than three years of inactivity. I really missed their amazing vocals... Watch the official MV for "Then, now and forever" here.

    #19 CL - 5star (pre-release) - Nov. 6th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    This song was another pre-release ahead of her album, and honestly this style speaks more to me. As much as I love the 'badass' CL, I also love to see artists happy and sing lightheartedly and freely. I was so happy to see her more "emotional" and "vulnerable" side, and god Christian looks so fine (I wouldn't be mad if they're dating). Watch the official MV for "5 star" here.

    #18 Monsta X - Love Killa (comeback) - Nov. 2nd 

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    Are we taking a trip down memory lane? If yes then count me in. I feel like this is more like "old school" Monsta X and I LOVE IT! Jooheon is really coming for me. Watch the official MV for "Love Killa" here.

    #17 AKMU - Happening (comeback) - November 16th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020 

    VOCALS VOCALS VOCAAALS!!! If you're sleeping on AKMU, you're really missing out. Watch the official MV for "Happening" here.

    #16 Ab6IX - Salute (comeback) - Nov. 2nd

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020 

    Ab6ix has been through a lot. They lost 2 members but they still managed to fill up the gaps. I really like the opening of the song, the marching guards, the epic concept, the RAP (omg Woo Jin killed me with that rap). Their attitude is something else, especially Daehwi (maybe it's coming from his experience on produce). They really improved so much in such hard circumstances, so big ups for them. Watch the official MV for "Salute" here.

    #15 StayC - So bad (debut) - Nov. 12th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    Is this really a debut? REALLY? Wow... Well, aside from the instrumental being constant and lacking momentum, everything's on point. Rap, Vocals, Choreography, MV, ATTITUDE! Watch the official MV for "So Bad" here.

    #14 GFriend - MAGO (comeback) - Nov. 9th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020 

    What group/artist hasn't done a retro concept this year yet? After Sunmi, JYP, Everglow and Twice it's now Gfriend's turn and honestly, they KILLED IT! I'm far from being a hardcore 'stan' but THIS guys... THIS is by far their best song. The turn at the start of the chorus? *chef's kiss* Watch the official MV for "MAGO" here.

    #13 Secret Number - Got that boom (comeback) - Nov. 4th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    The MV is a bit too much for me, it was packed with crazy lights and crazy effects, but I was really surprised (in a good way) with the vocals ("who dis" wasn't my cup of tea). Also, the song is really REALLY catchy (especially the first part of the chorus). Watch the official MV for "Got that boom" here.

    #12 BTS - Life goes on (comeback) - Nov. 20th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    Another comfy song to listen to from BTS. Life goes on, no matter how much the world is twisted... Watch the official MV for "Life goes on" here.

    #11 Ha Sungwoon - Forbidden Island (comeback) - Nov. 9th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    UNDERRATED ARTIST! The MV is gorgeous, HE is gorgeous and he sings perfectly. I really wonder why Sungwoon isn't receiving more recognition. He definitely should. And I obviously am so mad at myself right now for missing out on him. Watch the official MV for "Forbidden Island" here.

    #10 GOT7 - Breath (pre-release) - Nov. 23rd

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020 

    This is what I call a pre-release. First, it SCREAMS GOT7. This is their style, and it reminds me a bit of "If you do" and "Lullaby". Second, it sets the tone for their upcoming album that'll be released on Nov. 30th. This is also another chance for others to mock me because I don't know how to whistle (: Watch the official MV for "Breath" here

    #9 Aespa - Black Mamba (debut) - Nov. 17th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    One thing I can say for sure is that this debut is really promising. The song is catchy, the vocals are amazing and the dance is energetic and powerful. If you want to know what I thought of ÆSPA's debut I made an article about it, you can check it out by clicking here. Watch the official MV for "Black Mamba" here.

    #8 Got7 - Last Piece (comeback) - Nov. 30th

    TOP KMUSIC #2: November 2020

    It was in eclipse where they used this move right? Anyways, interesting! I wonder why they used the same set as in "Breath". The song is great, again it's GOT7's style. I was surprised when the second part of the chorus came out after the drop, but it doesn't disrupt the song at all. In my opinion GOT7 is one of the boy groups in the industry to have such stable vocals. Watch the official MV for "Last Piece" here

    #7 Kai - Mmmh (solo debut) - Nov. 30th

    TOP KMUSIC #2: November 2020

    I feel like it was the right moment for Kai to go solo. The style of the MV is so him, and I knew he had good vocals but damn... my ears were blessed (the autotune might bother some people but it didn't seem exaggerated to me). And I was pleasantly surprised with the actual direction of the MV. Seeing the teaser pictures I expected him to go all out showing his abs and stuff (not that I wouldn't have liked it) but he did it in such a subtle way and I loved it. Also, this icy scenery at the very end of the MV reminded me of the whole superpower thing with EXO, is that still a thing or I'm just making nonsense right now lol? Watch the official MV for "Mmmh" here.

    #6 Chungha - Dream of you (pre-release) - Nov.27th 

    TOP KMUSIC #2: November 2020

    Here we go again with the pre-release loop from Chungha... Honestly, I'm not complaining, but she's been teasing her album for a couple of months now and you know, Covid happened, so it was delayed. Anyways, this is still a piece of art to enjoy while waiting for the actual album. From all the I.O.I members she's the only one I would call "successful". Chungha is an amazing dancer, there's no denying that, but she also has this aura when she performs, as if she was possessed (in a good way). And I love how she went for a feminine/masculine theme, whether through the outfits or even the dance. Watch the performance video for "Dream of You" here.

    #5 Enhypen - Given-Taken (debut) - Nov. 30th

    TOP KMUSIC #2: November 2020

    You don't know how happy I am to see them finally debut. I watched the show and got attached to these boys so much... Now, I'm not a fan of the vampire concept, but the song is fire and so is the dance. The line distribution and screen time are pretty fair in my opinion. I know it's weird to say that when they just debuted but I already like their style. They're young, they're fresh, they're talented, they're determined, and the whole group is really harmonious. I really suggest you listen to the whole album, it's really great (the range for Flicker got higher than in I-LAND and oh my god that's really high)! Watch the official MV for "Given-Taken" here.

    #4 Mino - Runaway (comeback) - Oct. 30th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    2:50 minutes of pure artistry, period. Let the artist explain his piece of art himself here. Watch the official video for "Run away" here

    Honorable mentions

    Treasure - MMM (Comeback) - Nov.6th - Official MV

    Woodz - Bump Bump (Comeback) - Nov.17th - Official MV

    Up10tion - Destiny (Comeback) - Nov.27th - Official MV

    Lucy - Snooze (Comeback) - Nov.12th - Official MV

    Brooklyn - Imagine (Comeback) - Nov.27th - Official MV

    WH3N - The night without saying goodbye (Comeback) - Nov. 23rd - Official MV

    BtoB 4u - Show your love (unit debut) - Nov.16th - Official MV

    #3 NCT U - 90s love (comeback) - Nov. 23rd

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    I'm still wondering why they put 3 or 4 members who were still not born in the 90s in there but they still slayed anyways. If you love old-school hip-hop (I do) this one's for you. Big ups to the editing team, I loved how the MV turned out, and big ups to Ten and Haechan for their godly vocals. I'm just disappointed with the fact that this mascot or whatever you call it had more screen time than Winwin and Yangyang. Watch the official MV for "90's love" here.

    #2 TXT - We lost the summer (release) - Nov. 12th

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    Blue Hour was an amazing and refreshing title track, but this song has a really nostalgic feeling to it. The meaning behind this song is probably why I love it so much. I mean, they're basically singing about how they miss their fans so much and that they are stuck in the winter because they're always staying "inside". Well, thanks to covid for that lol. Watch the official MV for "We lost the summer" here.

    #1 Taemin - IDEA (comeback) - Nov. 9th 

    TOP KMUSIC: November 2020

    I'm warning you whenever Taemin makes a comeback he'll always be in my top three because he's a god (or satan, or both lol). I mean, do I even have to explain? Taemin always manages to do new concepts while still being recognisable. Whenever you hear a song from him you know it's his song because he finally found his own signature, his own trademark while still reinventing his concepts every time, and this is the definition of an Artist for me. Watch the official MV for "IDEA" here.

    That's it guys! Let me know in the comments what are your favorite releases of this month. You can find the whole playlist by clicking here. Take care and I'll see you next week!

    Love, Swan

     

    Sources: YouTube. All the pictures in this article were taken by me from the official MVs on YouTube. 
    « The long awaited debut of SME's new girl group: ÆSPAMeet the actors #1: Ji Chang Wook »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: