• Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    ~ OCTOBER 2021 ~

    Hello everyone and welcome to our monthly rendez-vous! Today I'm going to rank my favourite kmusic releases for the month of October 2021. I know this one is VERY late (November is almost over), but I managed my time and myself to put it out asap. By the way if you still didn't cast your votes for the Swans Awards, you can click right here. YOU HAVE UNTIL NOVEMBER 30TH! I'll close the votes after that, and let me tell you that results are really tight, so now's the time to show your love and support for your faves!

    Before we start the ranking, here's the usual disclaimer: All the pictures included in this article are screenshots taken by me from official music videos. If there is copyright infringement, I apologize in advance and will remove any problematic picture upon the owner's request. You can also find the link to the YouTube playlist at the end of the article. Enjoy!

    #26 Jo Yuri (former IZ*One) - Glassy (solo debut) - October 7 

    Jo Yuri glassy swan baek jo

    There's only one thing I want to talk about for this song: THE "LALALA" PART IN THAT CHORUS! They really know how to make a song get stuck in our heads huh? Watch the official MV for "Glassy" right here.

    #25 BugAboo - Bugaboo (debut) - October 25

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    What's up with all these labels making addictive songs? That one wasn't able to get off my head for one whole week! Seriously speaking, the song is very upbead and the "I don't need nananananana" and the "bugaboo" part in the chorus are super catchy. Watch the official MV for "BugAboo" right here.

    #24 Luminous - Home Alone - October 18

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I honestly don't know this group but one thing I can say with confidence is that they are solid vocalists. You don't need a lot of money to make a good comeback, you just need passionate people with great vocals and that's enough (for me at least). Watch the official MV right here.

    #23 Eric Nam - I don't know you anymore (solo comeback) - October 15 [ENGLISH]

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    Eric Nam is an artist I wish I could see in concert, because his songs would get a thousand times better if sang live (but his songs are great anyway). This man is really talented and is not appreciated as he should be, so take this opportunity to check out this song. Watch the official MV for "I don't know you anymore" right here.

    #22 Huh! - MBT - October 20

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    This guy is my discovery of the month! He apparently was a contestant on Show Me The Money 9, and is a rapper under Amoeba culture. Well, he gives off a strong vibe, and raps with such a great flow! I just wished the song was longer. Watch the official MV for "MBT" right here.

    #21 Paul Kim - Gloomy Sunday (solo comeback) - October 8

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I could recognize his voice from a thousand miles away because I'ts so unique. You need a song to relax or to calm yourself? Well, congratulations, you've finally found it! Watch the official MV for "Gloomy Sunday" right here.

    #20 Woodz (former X1) - Waiting (solo comeback) - October 5

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    There's a huge paradox between the song and the lyrics. The lyrics are sad, this song talks about a toxic relationship to the extent that he's going crazy, but the rhythm is pretty upbeat with these guitar riffs kicking in the chorus and the electric guitar at the end of the chorus. And I really like it. Watch the official MV for "Waiting" right here.

    #19 EPEX - Do 4 Me (comeback) - October 26

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I love how energetic this song sounds like and this MV looks like. I liked the vibe of their debut track "Lockdown" but honestly thought that it lacked a bit of dynamism. But with "Do 4 me" they really pumped up the energy bar! Plus they look so cute uwu. At this point in their career a refreshing concept suits them better than a bad boy concept. Also, I'm sorry, I usually use group pictures but this time I had to take a picture of him. I don't know his name, but he's so gorgeous and cute at the same time, this hair looks perfect on him (and I know he's a rapper)! Watch the official MV for "Do 4 me" right here.

    #18 Tri.Be - Would you run (comeback) - October 12

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I absolutely loved their song Doom Doom Ta, it was so addictive and I'm going tell you a secret: I vibe to this song whenever I clean up my room ^^' Anyways, regarding "Would you run", I absolutely LOVE it, except for the verses. I think it's the intro that threw me off, the melody feels too weird for me to grasp. But then you have the pre-choruses and chorus that are totally awesome and addictive, especially that first part before the first chorus drop (they do that only for the first and third chorus). Watch the official MV for "Would you run" right here.

    #17 Bol4 - Butterfly Effect - October 26

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I am not a big fan of BOL4 but holy moly, I was about to fall sound asleep thanks to these heavenly vocals. The MV is also beautyful and sober at the same time. Watch the official MV for "Butterfly Effect" right here.

    #16 N.flying - Sober (repackage comeback) - October 6

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    Sober is on a whole other register compared to Moonshot. Sober is definitely a slower song, with some blues chords and smooth vocals. I really like this song, but I guess Moonshot is still the number one in my N.Fia heart. Watch the official MV for "Sober" right here.

    #15 CNBlue - Love Cut (comeback) - October 20

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I'm usually not a fan of the western/cowboy concept, but they totally nailed it. Plus, it's very addictive. Whenever there's a whistling melody you know that the song will get stuck in your head x) Watch the official MV for "Love Cut" right here.

    #14 NCT 127 - Favourite (Vampire) (comeback) - October 25

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    Just like every other NCT song, I had that "WTF" moment when I heard this for the first time. I still am not grasping the verses, but the chorus definitely stole my heart. And y'all know the whistle got me addicted. Watch the official MV for "Favourite (Vampire)" right here.

    #13 IU - Strawberry Moon (comeback) - October 18

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I love how soothing and calming this MV is, and IU's vocals are so powerful but delicate at the same time, which is why I enjoy it so much. Watch the official MV for "Strawberry Moon" right here.

    #12 Youngjae (former GOT7) - Vibin - October 5

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    This song is such a great song to vibe with in your car! It's just an amazing "feel good" song. Listen to it and it'll brighten up your mood. Youngjae has very soothing and powerful vocals at the same time, and he's killing these notes that are fairly high for a male singer. Also, you HAVE to watch the MV just to see his precious smile. Watch the official MV for "Vibin" right here.

    #11 CL - Tie a cherry (comeback) - October 20

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    Alpha is, for me, CL's best solo album. This album is simply fantastic, the queen is giving us attitude and strenght, and I honestly feel proud. I don't have anything else to say. Watch "Tie a cherry" right here.

    #10 Luna (of f(x)) - Madonna - October 6

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I guess she really wanted to pay tribute to madonna, and I can totally picture madonna singing this song when she was younger. I really like the rhythm of the song, and Luna's outfits are simply stunning. Watch the official MV for "Madonna" right here.

    #9 Ateez - Eternal Sunshine (comeback) - October 3

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    There's nothing wrong in releasing a summer song in October right? I lowkey like this song more than déjà vu. I'm not saying déjà vu is not a great song, it is, but I prefer the vibe of Eternal Sunshine, and I kinda missed the ciolorful and joyful vibes they previously showed with Wave and Illusion (which was kind of a long time ago). Shoutout to my boy Jongho who's killing those high notes and to my boy Seonghwa for rocking his outfits. Watch the official MV for "Eternal Sunshine" right here.

    #8 Ailee - Don't teach me (comeback) - October 27

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I can't say anything else than "SHE FREAKIN' KILLED IT"! The musical concept suits her voice SO MUCH, and she was so gorgeous in all her outfits and the choreography was matching the vibe, wery classy with so much attitude, ugh I'm living for it. Watch the official MV for "Don't teach me" right here.

    #7 Twice - The feels (single) - October 1 [ENGLISH]

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    The queens are back with a … prom concept! I don't think any group had that concept before, or at least not a lot thought about it. I have to say that I love the choreography, especially the chorus part. The only thing I'm not fond of in this song is the pre-chorus. As soon as the auto-tune becomes too obvious, it throws me off. But this song is still amazing and VERY CATCHY (as it should from Twice haha). Watch the official MV for "The Feels" right here.

    #6 Somi - Xoxo (comeback) - October 29

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I've always liked Somi, especially her song "Birthday", but I was waiting for something to happen, I don't know what but something. And that thing happened when "XOXO" came out. For some reason, I kept listening to that song all day long when it came out and it's now on my playlist, and I listen to it at least twice a day. Watch the official MV for "XOXO" right here.

    #5 Raiden ft. Taeil, Illiboi - Love right back - October 11

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    Taeil is one of SM's best vocalists, and I believe that he'd be able to showcase more of his talent if he starts doing solo stuff. I'm not saying he should leave NCT, not at all. But I'd be very happy to see him releasing a single or a solo album before he enlists. Watch the official MV for "Love right back" right here.

    #4 Kingdom - Black Crown (comeback) - October 21

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    These guys have the coolest concept I've ever seen in Kpop. Seriously, calling your group Kingdom and telling the story of different kings that marked history is too cool. Plus, they have killer vocals, and their MVs cannot be even called music videos because they're like movies. And not any group could be able to pull of such concept, so they're really worth checking out if you still don't know them! Watch the official MV for "Black Crown" right here.

    Time for honorable mentions!

     

    #3 CL - Let it (comeback) - October 27

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    The lyrics to that song are so powerful: "I will never change myself to follow the crowd, Just living to be me", "what matters is your dreams, hope plus your spirit". It really made me feel good listening to that song, and CL singing it is even better. Watch the official MV for "Let It" right here.

    #2 Enhypen - Tamed-Dashed (comeback) - October 12

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    I'm absolutely loving the rock vibe every Hybe artist has been going for lately. TXT, Enhypen and Seventeen, it's totally my jam! The chorus is upbeat, and you really want to bop your head to it. I just wished the song was less repetitive towards the end and to have a different, more crazy last chorus, but the song is still amazing! And oh my god, Niki has grown so much! Watch the official MV for "Tamed-Dashed" right here.

    #1 Seventeen - Rock with you (comeback) - October 22

    Top Kmusic #13: October 2021

    This song is so close to become my favourite Seventeen title track. It has everything, the rock vibe, the vocals, the choreo, the MV, the attitude, EVERYTHING! Objectively, this song is perfect. Subjectively, this song is the best that was out in October. Watch the official MV for "Rock With You" right here.

    That's it guys! I hope you enjoyed it, and let me know your own favourite releases of October 2021 in the comments down below. Here's the link to the YouTube playlist: Top Kmusic October 2021

    Take care and I'll see you soon!

    Love, Swan

    « Kpop slang 101Welcome to Dramaland #9: My Name »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: