• Top Kmusic #11: August 2021

    ~ August 2021 ~

    Average reading time: 8 minutes.

    Hello everyone and welcome to the top Kmusic for the month of August. This month was the hottest, in terms of weather and in terms of music! This ranking was hard to make first because so many songs were released this month (I don't think I've ever done a ranking with more than 26 songs in it), and second because so many things happened in my life that I didn't really have the time to post it on time. But now here we are! And before we start, here's the usual disclaimer: All the pictures included in this article are screenshots taken by me from official music videos. If there is copyright infringement, I apologize in advance and will remove any problematic picture upon the owner's request. The link of the YouTube playlist can be found at the end of the article.

    #26 Weekly - Holiday Party (comeback) - August 4

    Weekly holiday party

    I usually don't listen a lot to cute and fresh concepts, but there's something about this group. They are so good at making this kind of songs not cheesy. "After School" is still better in my humble opinion, but this song has more of a summer vibe. Watch the official MV for "Holiday Party" right here.

    #25 Ten and YangYang (of WayV) - Low Low (single) - August 17 [ENGLISH]

    WayV ten and yang yang low low

    What an unexpected duo! This song is a very lighthearted song and I was very surprised (in a good way) when I heard that Ten and Yangyang would collaborate. YangYang is my WayV bias and he definitely doesn't get enough screentime in WayV's stuff to get noticed. So I hope that with this song, more people will notice him. Watch the official MV for "Low Low" right here.

    #24 Kim Woojin (former Stray Kids) - Ready Now (solo debut) - August 4

    Kim Woojin ready now

    This is very different from his pre-debut song, but I still like it very much. I have never doubted his vocal abilities, and now I discover that he can decently rap too (with a bit of practice I'm sure he'll get better). I also like the choreography for this song a lot. Watch the official MV for "ready now" right here.

    #23 Doyoung and Haechan (of NCT U) - Maniac (single) - August 12

    NCT U doyoung and haechan maniac

    I really like the song, Doyoung and Haechan's voice go so well together. I also like the instrumentals, it's refreshing and it makes you want to dance. However, I still don't understand why they got this girl dancing during the whole video, if someone could explain it to me that'd be great. Watch the official MV for "Maniac" right here.

    #22 박재범, JAY PARK and pH-1 - All In (single) - August 3

    Jay park and Ph-1 all in

    This song is the type of song I thought I wouldn't like but ended up loving. The build up until the chorus drops is FANTASTIC, and the rap is… breathtaking.  Watch the official MV for "All In" right here

    #21 Ateez X Kim Jong Kook - Be my lover (single collaboration) - August 16

    Ateez and kim jong kook

    This song is such a feel good song. First, Jongho finally had a chance to shine with his vocals that perfectly suit this song. Second, the choreography is so cool! It screams summer and fun. I think it'd make a good workout choreography lol! Plus, Kim Jong Kook's and ATEEZ's vocals go so well together. Watch the official MV for "Be my lover" right here.

    #20 Ha Sung Woon (former Wanna One) - Strawberry Gum (comeback) - August 9

    HA sung woon strawberry gum

    I loved sneakers and I also love strawberry gum. Fresh and bouncing concepts suits Ha Sung Woon so well! He has such a cute and fresh face and expressions. Added to my playlist! Watch the official MV for "Strawberry Gum" right here.

    #19 Somi (former I.O.I) - Dumb Dumb - August 2

    Somi dumb dumb

    Aaand another catchy song to add to your playlist! The switch between the major chords during the verses and the switch to the minor chords when the chorus drops is just fantastic. Plus, the sentence she says right before the drop is the one that will stay stuck in your head: "난 네 머리 꼭대기에서 춤춰 you dumb dumb" (I'm dancing on top of your head, you dumb, dumb). Watch the official MV for "Dumb Dumb" right here.

    #18 Golden Child - Fanfare (special video) - August 6

    Golden child fanfare

    I just have one thing to say: SEXY. The dance is sexy, the song is sexy, the expressions are sexy, the beat is sexy, the vocals are sexy, this whole thing is sexy. Well done Golden Child. Watch the official MV for "Fanfare" right here.

    #17 Everglow - Promise (for UNICEF promise campaign) - August 25

    everglow promise unicef campaign

    I love songs that carry positive and hopeful messages, and this one is no exception. In these difficult times, we need such songs to boost us up, and Everglow did it really well. Watch the official MV for "Promise" right here.

    #16 CL (former 2NE1) - Spicy (pre-release) - August 24

    CL spicy

    THE QUEEN IS BACK! What a song honestly… CL has so much attitude and charisma. The beat goes so hard and so does the choreography! The MV is also cool as hell (that talking statue at the beginning freaked me out but it was still cool). And you guys the pikachu car was so cute & badass at the same time (if I can have one like this I wouldn't complain). Watch the official MV for "Spicy" right here.

    #15 Kwon Eun Bi (former IZ*ONE) - Door (solo debut) - August 24

    Kwon Eun Bi door

    THE MUSICAL VIBES YES GIRL! To be honest, I never really got into IZ*ONE's members while still listening to their music. So I didn't really know who she was until someone told me she was an ex-IZ*ONE member and I went like "Damn…". We don't hear this kind of sound very often in the girl scene and I'm glad she went for it. Plus, it's a freaking solo debut! Job well done Kwon Eun Bi. Watch the official MV for "Door" right here.

    #14 Astro - After midnight (comeback) - August 2

    Astro after midnight

    If you're still unfamiliar with ASTRO, check out their presentation right now by clicking here. A funky, colourful and upbeat song to light up the mood in this hot summer season. It's great to have a fresh comeback from them again, they're so good at it, plus they've become even more handsome. Can we talk about Sanha's glow up? Watch the official MV for "After Midnight" right here.

    #13 Sunmi (former Wonder Girls) - You Can't Sit With Us (comeback) - August 6

    Sunmi you can't sit with us

    Another retro song and I'm not mad at it, especially because Sunmi pulls it off so well! Although the MV gets pretty creepy really fast (why the hell did zombies have to be in here), the song is annoyingly catchy and will never get out of your head :p Watch the official MV for "You can't sit with us" right here.

    #12 Brave Girls - After We Ride (comeback) - August 23

    Brave girls after we ride

    I never knew brave girls before their "rebirth". I just had heard their song "rolling" maybe once or twice. And then they were given a second chance (and I'm glad otherwise I would have never gotten into their music which would've been a shame). The song has such a nostalgic feeling. The way the song starts just makes you want to cry from the beginning. Watch the official MV for "After we ride" right here.

    #11 BtoB 4U - Outsider (unit comeback) - August 30

    BtoB outsider

    Ah… Minhyuk… I'm sorry I'm usually not the type to stop at looks but I mean… Look at this man. And the HAIR! The hairdresser deserves a raise. Jokes aside, the message is pretty deep for such a nice upbeat song. There's no need to wanting to be like the others, being an "outsider" has its charm and it advantages. Watch the official MV for "Outsider" right here.

    #10 Lucy - Irrelevant Answer (comeback) - August 20

    Lucy irrelevant answer

    ANIME OPENING MATERIAL INCOMING! You guys, if you don't know Lucy, go check them out right now! I know I say it every time I mention them in my rankings but the violin adds so much to their music! If you don't bop your head like crazy when hearing this song, it means your neck is made of metal. Watch the official MV for "Irrelevant Answer" right here.

    #9 ONF - Popping (comeback) - August 9

    ONF popping

    I can't say that I'm a fan of the music video because I don't see how it is related to the song. The youtuber "Form of Therapy" said something funny a while ago: "Is ONF's fandom called FUSE because of the "fuse" In "confused"?" So yes, I was pretty confused by the MV. However, I'm a big fan of the song. The chant in the beginning is just so nice to start the song, and the pre-chorus is full of high notes and harmonies just as I like them! Watch the official MV for "Popping" right here.

    #8 CIX - Wave (comeback) - August 17

    CIX wave

    If you're still unfamiliar with CIX, check out their presentation right now by clicking right here. If you follow me on instragram you know that I was really hyped for the release of their first studio album. But I was like "how the hell are they going to release something better than cinema" because that song is THE song for me. And then I remembered that it's not necessarily about doing better but about putting out something new. And even though Cinema remains my favourite CIX title track, Wave shines in its own way. I love how the song starts, it made me feel like I was underwater. And the MV was simply gorgeous (just take a look at that screenshot). Watch the official MV for "Wave" right here.

    #7 Ten (of WayV) - Paint me naked (solo comeback) - August 10 [ENGLISH]

    Ten paint me naked

    That's the kind of song I wanted to listen to during the whole summer, and Ten gifted it to us. I really love the way he says "Cause you really make my fancy work" with that rock/raspy tone (good job to the person who worked on arranging the song). I also love the attitude he shows in the MV. He looks so confident and I'm so proud of him. Watch the official MV for "Paint me naked" right here.

    #6 Hyolyn and Dasom (former Sistar) - Summer or Summer (single) - August 10

    Hyolyn and Dasom summer or summer

    I never really got to know Sistar because I started to get into Kpop when they had already disbanded. However, I knew that they were called "queens of summer" and I have to agree at 1000%. The song and the MV SCREAM summer. Hyolyn and Dasom looked so cute together. They literally are accomplices and seem to genuinely having fun. I love the mix between vocals and rap, the high notes had such great impact as well as the rap portions. Watch the official MV for "Summer or Summer" right here.

    #5 Gaho - Ride (solo comeback) - August 12

    Gaho ride

    Please, if you still don't know Gaho, GO CHECK HIM OUT! I'm sure you've heard his voice before because he sung so many drama OSTs. However, his songs are even better, you're missing out on a lot. He deserves so much more than what he's getting. This man has a voice that I could recognise a thousand miles away and that's what makes him so unique. I think it's his first time actually doing a more rock-ish song and it suits him really well (damn he looks good in these outfits). Watch the official MV for "Ride" right here.

    #4 The Boyz - Thrill Ride (comeback) - August 9 

    The Boyz Thrill Ride

    God knows how much I missed the fresh and summery The Boyz from D.D.D. I was waiting for them to come back with a fresh concept again (not that I don't like the other concepts), and I was not disappointed at all. First, can we talk about Hyunjae? I think he's slowly becoming my bias (sorry Eric). And second, I'm so happy to see them having so much fun shooting a music video. Their facial expressions are on point and they don't seem like there were forced. They seemed naturally happy to be shooting this video that's why they succeed in conveying these positive vibes. Watch the official MV for "Thrill Ride" right here.

    Honorable mentions:

    • Golden Child - Ra pam pam (comeback) - August 2 - Official MV
    • Oneus - Shut Up 받고 Crazy Hot! (special release) - August 5 - Official MV
    • Hyo ft. BIBI - Second (comeback) - August 9 - Official MV
    • Pentagon (Yuto, Kino, Wooseok) - Cerberus (unit release) - August 18 - Official MV
    • Verivery - Trigger (comeback) - August 23 - Official MV
    • Youha - Ice T (comeback) - August 24 - Official MV

     

    #3 Key (of Shinee) ft. Taeyeon (of Girls' Generation) - Hate that (pre-release) - August 30

    Key ft. Taeyeon hate that

    I missed him SO much. Of all Shinee members, Key has the most pop style in terms of solo career. I'm so excited for his album to be released, but for now we have this song to listen to while waiting, and what a song! Key's voice and Taeyeon's voice go so well together. And the structure of the song is not like any other Kpop song. There is no build up to the chorus, no chorus drop, no high notes going in all directions, no rap verses. The structure of this song is the typical structure of an american pop song, and it doesn't hurt to sometimes have a simply structured song to listen to. Watch the official MV for "Hate that" right here.

    #2 Stray Kids - Thunderous (comeback) - August 23

    Stray Kids thunderous

    If you're still unfamiliar with Stray Kids, check out their presentation right now by clicking right here. I think we all agree on one thing: this music video is a strong candidate for the MV of the year. Whoever worked on the animation is a genius. Mixing traditional and modern elements into a song has been a thing since they released God's menu. Back Door also had these two elements mixed together with the modern electronic sounds being more prominent. This time, you can distinctively hear the traditional korean instruments in the background, especially during the pre-chorus. Watch the official MV For "Thunderous" right here.

    #1 TXT - Lo$er = LoVer (comeback) - August 17

    TXT Loser=Lover

    If you're still unfamiliar with TXT, check out their presentation right now by clicking right here. I think this song is the one I listened to the most this month. I knew I was going to like this song when the first teaser came out. That rock almost (but not too much) emo style really fits them. I didn't know they were so good at acting, especially Taehyun and Beomgyu. As soon as I can I am getting my hands on this album. This song is definitely my favourite of this month. Watch the official MV for "Lo$er=LoVer" right here.

    That's it! These were my favourite kmusic releases of the month of August 2021! Feel free to comment down below your own favourites, and which release are you looking forward to in the next months. Don't forget that the end of the year is coming and that I'll be starting to work on the "Swans awards" first edition really soon (let's pretend last year's edition didn't happen ok?). 

    If you want to listen to all the songs on this ranking back-to-back, here's the YouTube playlist link: Top kmusic August 2021

    Take care and I'll see you all soon!

    Love, Swan

     

    Sources: YouTube. 
    « Group presentation #10: Step out! Hello we are Stray Kids!1st Year Anniversary: The Blog is 1 year old! »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: