• 2021 Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    2021 Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

     

    Despite everything bad that happened in 2020, it has been a good year for the Kmusic industry. Yes, shows and tours were cancelled, idols couldn’t perform in front of their fans and the fans couldn’t share precious moments with the artists they admire. However, the industry came up with pretty good alternatives so the fans could still, although differently, meet with their beloved idols.

    2020 now over, what does the industry have in store for us? What will 2021 look like in terms of debuts, comebacks, and disbandments? I’ll try to answer that question as much as possible, without going too much into details..

    I’ll be dividing this article into three parts: First, debuts. Who are the entertainment companies likely to debut a new group this year? How many groups will debut? Boygroups or Girlgroups? Or maybe even co-ed groups? Second, comebacks. Who are the groups that will comeback this year? How many comebacks? When? And last but not least, disbandments. Who are the groups likely to disband? And for what reasons?

    Lastly, before we get started, keep in mind that:

    • These are only predictions, which means that whatever I say in this article may or may not happen.
    • If I think that a group will disband or a member will leave his/her group it doesn’t necessarily mean that I hate this group/member. 
    • I ultimately cannot mention all the groups out there, so I will narrow my commentary down to the "big four" (SM, YG, JYP and Big Hit labels). 

    PART I: Debuts

    S2 Entertainment girl group

    I had heard previously that cube was going to launch a new girl group. So, I did my research, and turns out it’s not cube but its Co-founder, Hong Seung Sung, under his newly established agency: S2 entertainment, who will likely be launching a new girl group in the second half of 2021. Hong Seung Sung had left Cube earlier this year and since created his own entertainment agency: S2 entertainment. He’s planning to debut a girl group that supposedly has strong songwriting, performance and language skills that can “make them global stars” according to him. I know that Hong Seung Sung is a man with 30 years of experience behind him, so I’m expecting something well-prepared and pretty solid. Other than this, we’ll have to wait to know more.  

    BigHit Japan Boygroup

    It was confirmed that Big Hit plans to debut a new Jpop boygroup with previous I-Land contestants K, Nicholas, EJ, Kyungmin and Taki. However, the lineup doesn’t seem to be complete and they are currently holding auditions to recruit an additional member. I am genuinely happy for all of them since they have proven themselves in front of a global audience, especially K and Nicholas. I was bitter that K didn’t have the chance to debut with Enhypen, but now I’m really happy for him as well as for the other members. I’m also really curious about the people participating in the audition, whether they are BigHit trainees, other former I-LAND contestants, or even complete strangers. I doubt they will debut in the first half of 2021 since auditions are still ongoing, so would tend to say they’ll debut in the second half of the year, more like towards September. I think this group will be directly under Big Hit Japan, and not under a company Big Hit Labels acquired like Source Music or Pledis.

    BigHit new Girl Group

    I just quickly want to quote back what Bang Si-Hyuk said during Big Hit’s corporate briefing when talking about the new girl group: “There’s another Source Music girl group undergoing remarkable new changes. It’s a new group set to debut in 2021. This team was formed through the Plus Global Auditions held in 16 cities around the world last year. While we can’t reveal much now, you can be assured that it’ll be a global girl group from diverse backgrounds and language. It will be a new blockbuster girl group, with producing by myself accompanied by Big Hit’s team, CBO Min Hee-jin’s creative directing, and Source Music’s own color and girl-group know-how.” My conclusions are the following: The said new girl group will be under Big Hit Labels but closely managed by Source Music. I don’t know what will exactly be the role of Bang Si-Hyuk and Big Hit’s management team, but it has been clearly stated that they will have a say, as well as Source Music’s management team. The group will consist of members from diverse backgrounds which, I think is becoming necessary in order to stand out. I would tend to say that they are more likely to debut towards the end of the year because we clearly don’t know anything about this group, but due to Big Hit’s secretive nature the group might be ready to debut sooner than we think. 

    BigHit new boy group

    On January 16, 2021 SM announced that it started accepting online applications to audition for a new boy group. The audition is global and open to any male born between 2002 and 2008 (oh god I started to feel old right now). The audition will be split into multiple phase, and SM will make its final decisions by March 31. It is therefore unlikely that the group will debut in the first half of this year, and I personally won't expect them to debut before the end of 2021. Maybe they'll debut around the same time as the new girl group, which could be an interesting marketing move. 

    Lisa & Rosé (from Blackpink) solo debuts

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    According to Soompi, YG has confirmed that Lisa and Rosé are preparing for Solo debuts (keyword: preparing). I don’t know how to feel about Lisa’s solo debut considering it was also confirmed that she’ll be a mentor for the third season of the Chinese survival show “Youth with you”. If she’s really going to debut solo, I think it’ll be after she ends her mentoring job on that show. And for Rosé, I think she’ll have her solo debut before Lisa, and I really hope that she’ll be able to participate in the making process of her album. As for Jisoo I don’t think YG has solo debut plans for her, but I’d love to see her getting acting opportunities, and for Jennie she’ll continue her modeling activities aside Blackpink promotions.

    PART II: COMEBACKS

    Some comebacks have already been confirmed, and others who weren’t are likely to happen. Let’s start with groups/artists under SM entertainment.

    EXO

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I knew things would get messy for EXO when SM decided to send them to the military one after the other rather than all the members at once. Baekhyun will most likely be the next member to join the military towards the end of 2021, so he’ll release a mini album just before his departure. EXO-SC will probably release either a mini album or a full album this year and Kai will have his first solo comeback with a mini album. Now that Xiumin has returned, I will be optimistic and hope for an eventual solo debut? Or maybe a new unit with Xiumin in it.

    SuperM:

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    As I said previously, Baekhyun will most likely be enlisting this year. However, I don’t think SuperM will disband. They will probably release a mini album and go through the promotions with Baekhyun just before his enlistment. They might release another mini album after Baekhyun enlists but I think it all depends on the timing of his enlistment. SuperM will also probably continue to appear on US TV shows like the late late show, the tonight show, maybe Ellen, etc.

    SHINee

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I’m trying not to lose it right now, but it’s happening guys. THE KINGS ARE COMING BACK IN FEBRUARY! I was really hoping for it considering Taemin is close to his enlistment date (he’s turning 28 internationally this year), and it’s happening!!! I couldn’t be happier. I also think Tamin will put out a Korean mini album as well as a Japanese mini album before he goes to the military, and Key will probably put out a mini album as well. I’d love to think that Onew will also have his first comeback as a solo artist after his solo debut with “Blue”, but I doubt it’ll happen. As for Minho, I think he’ll be focusing more on his acting career (I think it was already announced that he’ll make a special appearance in an upcoming Kdrama). 

    NCT

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Dear Lee Soo Man and the executive team of SM entertainment, if you’re reading this, STOP. ADDING. MEMBERS. AND. TAKE. CARE. OF. THE. CURRENT. ONES. Thank you. This has to stop. 23 members is enough.

    Now, NCT 127 is already gearing up for a Japanese comeback in February. I doubt Taeyong will participate to any promotion because of his injuries, and as for future comebacks I think it’ll all depend on his condition. With or without Taeyong, I still think NCT 127 will have 1 or maybe even 2 korean comebacks aside from their Japanese one.

    I think that NCT dream will also have a comeback with a mini or a full-length album with Mark being a permanent member of the unit.

    I don’t know what to think of NCT U because that whole NCT 2020 era messed my mind up. If you say NCT U there’s the Make A Wish lineup, the 90s love lineup and the Work-It lineup. So, I don’t know what to say about NCT U to be honest.

    I’d like WayV to have two comebacks this year, but they’ll probably only have one. We might get a single as a bonus.

    Finally, there are rumors of a new sub-unit, but nothing has been confirmed yet (and deep down I hope it’s not true because at this point it’s just nonsense and the members need to rest).

    Red Velvet

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Ah, the 7-year mark. For those who are still unfamiliar with the K-pop industry, when idols sign a contract with an agency it usually lasts 7 years. When this period ends, it’s up to the artists to decide if they want to renew their contracts, and the time’s up for the Red Velvet members. Red Velvet has been M.I.A this whole year because Wendy suffered major injuries due to an accident at the SBS Gayo Daejeon rehearsal. However, it seems that Wendy’s back and just for that I think the girls will renew their contracts and will have one comeback as a group this year. Irene & Seulgi might get a unit comeback too. 

    Aespa

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I think SM’s main focus will be put on AESPA this year. They will most probably have one to two comebacks, and rumours say that new members will be added to the group this year. I don't think they'll go for a seven-membered girl group but rather for a five-membered girl group. 

    Taeyeon

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Taeyeon will probably have one Korean comeback this year as well as one Japanese mini-album. Deep down I’m hoping for Oh!GG’s return but I bet it won’t happen.

     

    Moving on to YG entertainment.

    Blackpink

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I think YG will lay low considering we had a full album in 2020. They will still have a mini album but most likely towards the end of the year since Rosé and Lisa seem to be gearing up for their solo debuts. I hope YG has plans for Jisoo as an actress and Jennie as a model like I said before so they don’t go M.I.A for too long.

    iKon

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    On January 15, it was announced that Bobby's second full album is "coming soon". And on January 17, the date "January 25" was revealed. I don't think you can understand how happy I am right now. However, I hope YG won't forget about the group and won't throw them in the dungeon. Hopefully, the boys will have a DECENT comeback this year. "I Decide" was a great album, it just wasn't promoted enough and the marketing budget was questionable. Even if B.I left, iKon shouldn't be slept on and left aside... please YG, don't throw them in the dungeon... 

    Treasure

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    By the time this article is out, they would’ve released their full-length album, and they’ll most probably have another Korean comeback with a mini album. They might also get a Japanese comeback. YG’s main focus will definitely be put on Treasure this year. I haven’t watched YG treasure box (and I probably won’t because it’s just too long), but I’m looking forward to see them on variety shows so I can get to know them better.

    Song Mino

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I was blown away by his album "Take" this year. I'm pretty sure we'll get one mini album, but I'm personally hoping for two, because Run Away was a piece of art and I just think I fell in love with Mino. 

    Bigbang

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    BigBang was supposed to perform at Coachella in 2020, and their comeback was teased but nothing was put out because of Covid. Now I just think that it’s a matter of time before they actually release a new album. If they don't release a new album this year, I still think GD and Taeyang will both have solo comebacks but not simultaneously. 

     

    Moving on to Big Hit Label artists. 

    BTS

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I think we won’t have any releases before the Grammys (the ceremony has been postponed for March 2021). After that, Suga will most likely focus on his recovery but I think there’s a possibility that he’ll release a solo mixtape in the second half of 2021. I think we’ll also have an EP or a mini album from the whole group towards the last portion of the year, and Jin won’t probably enlist before 2022 for one reason: TXT isn’t old enough yet.

    TXT

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Nothing has been said yet about TXT, but I’m really hoping for a full-length album this year. I also want them to release more dance covers or even their own choreographies because I think they are incredible dancers.

    Enhypen

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Enhypen will surely have one comeback, and I hope for more original songs this time. I also look forward to hear some rap because we haven’t in their debut album. They might get a second comeback, or maybe a single, but I think we’ll have more than one comeback this year. I also hope we get to bond with them throughout variety shows.

    Seventeen

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Seventeen will most likely have two comebacks and I won’t complain to be honest. I would really appreciate if Dino releases more of his “Danceology” videos on YouTube. Also, I know that this is very likely not to happen but I wish they would participate in Kingdom. I’m sure we’d see crazy stages.

     

    Lastly, let’s talk about groups under JYP entertainment.

    ITZY

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I think this year will be overloaded with comebacks and TV appearances for ITZY. It was confirmed that they will release English versions of their title tracks, which could lead to multiple US TV shows appearances, and I predict they’ll have one mini album around summer, and maybe a full album towards the end of the year.

    Twice

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Twice will most probably have one Korean and one Japanese comeback. I would really like to see them go out of their comfort zone like they did with "I can't stop me".

    Day6 

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Technically, Jae and Seungmin are still on a break due to health reasons. So maybe we should expect an “Even of day” unit comeback this year. I do hope Jae and Seungmin recover soon so we can have a Day6 comeback (and this time I would personally want something with heavy instrumentals and crazy vocals after the nostalgic dominant in “The Book of Us: The Demon”). 

    Stray Kids

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    When I saw that Stray Kids would participate in Kingdom alongside ATEEZ and The Boyz, my multi fandom heart suffered, A LOT. I don’t think they will come back before Kingdom since it’s supposed to start airing in the first half of 2021 (I really hope so), but I do think they will perform a new song in the finale and release an official MV afterwards. And then, maybe one or two months later, we’ll have an album with this song in it. I also think the same will happen with ATEEZ.

    PART III: Disbandments

    Hearing that a group is disbanding is always sad. The whole concept of Kpop groups makes that they have a strong bond with their fans. They grow up together, they support each other, the share moments with each other, and then when a group disbands it's like we're cutting the umbilical cord. And even if you're not a fan, you still feel sad. Now, some disbandments hurt more than others, especially when it's the label's fault (X1 *ahem* *ahem* Mnet *ahem* *ahem*), but we do have to cope with it. Here's a list of groups who might disband in 2021, either because they have been on a very long hiatus or because their contracts are coming close to an end. 

    GOT7

    GOT7 last piece group picture

    This is the only group I'll mention who officially disbanded. It was officially announced on January 11, 2021 that GOT7 won't renew their contracts with JYP Entertainment. I will do a separate article on this one, but I am both happy and sad at the same time. Happy because the members will now be able to experiment new things and find their new path in order to grow, and sad because they won't be together for an indefinite period of time. However, I do believe they will reunite sometime in the future, because this is not the end of GOT7.

    Sonamoo

    Sonamoo group picture

    Another group who shouldn't have trusted TS entertainment... This label is, in my opinion, the worst in the whole industry. Sonamoo debuted in December 2014, meaning that their contracts will expire in December 2021. I doubt they'll have a comeback since their last one was from 2017, and eventually won't renew their contracts. Two former members, Nahyun and Sumin, had already filed lawsuits against the company to terminate their contract, and what surprises me is that the other members didn't do the same. Why waste 4 years on indefinite hiatus? 

    Winner

    Winner Remember YG

    Winner debuted in August of 2014, which means their contracts will come to an end by August of 2021. I don't know what will happen considering that two members are in the military right now, but I don't think they'll disband (at least I hope so...). I'd feel really sad if they come to disband because I really started to appreciate them and their music. 

    Berry Good

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    I didn't know of this group until "Accio", their latest comeback, came out in November of 2020. And I was surprised to see that they debuted in May, 2014 meaning their contracts should end by May, 2021. Even though they had a comeback recently, it didn't do well, and adding to that the multiple changes in the lineup throughout the year, there is a possibility that they'll disband.

    IZ*ONE

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Because they were formed in a survival show (Produce 48), IZ*ONE's contract is supposed to end by April 2021. However, on January 12, 2021, Soompi released an article saying that CJ ENM was discussing with the member's agencies about an eventual extension of their contracts. I don't want to get too far ahead, but it would be great if they could promote for a longer period since they are becoming more and more notorious. 

    TOO

    Kpop Predictions: What does 2021 have in store for us?

    Too Oriented Orchestra, a boy group formed during the MNET survival show "To be world class", debuted on April 1st, 2020 and are under n.CH entertainment and stone music entertainment (a CJ ENM subsidiary label). They participated in Road To kingdom to build their fanbase, they had a Korean comeback a couple of months ago called "Count 1,2", no honestly I was checking them from time to time. However, Soompi reported on January 13 that CJ ENM had abruptly ended their contract with n.CH and asked them to halt TOO's management. The group's future will all depend on how the case is handled, but knowing how CJ ENM handles this kind of things, I'm starting to worry. 

    Conclusion

    To put it in a nutshell, I think that we will have groups from older generations coming back in force and at the same time, we will have groups from newer generations affirming their style and their talents both nationally and internationally. Also, new trends will be set just like we witnessed the rise of the 80s/retro concept in the second half of 2020. 

     And you, what are your predictions for 2021? Let me know in the comments!

    Take care, and I'll see you all very soon ^^

    Love, Swan

     

    Sources: Allkpop, Soompi, Kprofiles, Wikipedia, YouTube.
    No copyright infringement intended. 

     

    « Welcome to Drama Land #3: Mr. Heart (BL)GOT7 and JYP Entertainment: The Divorce »

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: